Croatia at the London Book Fair - Bilateral Poetry Party

An evening of poetry with a line-up of 3 Croatian Poets and 3 UK poets. Hosted by contemporary avant garde English poet and artist, Steven Fowler, this promises to be a lively evening of words and wine. Featuring Croatian poets Olja Savičević, Damir Šodan, Ana Brnardić and UK poets Stephen Watts and James Byrne. This event is bought to you by the Croatian Writer’s Society in co-operation with Istros Books and Arc Publications.


Stephen Watts is a London-based poet, editor and translator with cultural roots in the Swiss Italian Alps and Scotland. He has two bilingual English-Italian works, The Mountain Language/Lingua di montagna (2008) and Journey Across Breath/Tragitto nel respiro (2011), six other collections of poems, including Ancient Sunlight (Enitharmon, 2014) and The Blue Bag (Aark Arts, 2004).

James Byrne: James Byrne’s most recent poetry collection Blood/Sugar, was published by Arc Publications in 2009. Bones Will Crow: 15 Contemporary Burmese Poets, published in June 2012, is co-edited with ko ko thett and is the first anthology of Burmese poetry ever to be published in the West (Arc 2012). Byrne is the editor of The Wolf, an internationally-renowned poetry magazine, which he co-founded in 2002. He is the International Editor for Arc Publications.

Steven J. Fowler is a contemporary avant garde English poet and artist. Fowler was born in Truro, Cornwall, studied at the University of Durham and the University of London, Birkbeck college. He lives in London and has published 6 poetry collections: The Rottweiler’s guide to the Dog Owner (Eyewear press 2014); Enemies: the selected collaborations of SJ Fowler (Penned in the Margins 2013); Recipes (Red Ceilings press 2012); Minimum Security Prison Dentistry (Anything Anymore Anywhere press 2011); Fights (Veer books 2011) Red Museum (Knives forks & spoons press 2011). 

Olja Savičević is an awarded poet and novelist, who burst onto the authorial stage with her short story collection Make the Dog Laugh in 2006. Last year, her collection of poems Mamasafari and Other Things was short-listed for the ‘Kiklop Award for Best Collection of 2012′, awarded annually by the Pula Book Fair. Her best-selling book Farewell, Cowboy has already achieved great success in the region, and was even adapted into a stage play. Part of the novel, Farewell, Cowboy was included in Dalkey Archive’s Best European Fiction 2014. 

Damir Šodan is a Croatian poet, playwright and translator. He has published four volumes of poetry, two collections of plays and an anthology of Croatian “neorealist” poetry. He has translated many influential American poets into Croatian and lectured on the topic of poetry. A recipient of two playwriting awards, he has been internationally featured in The American Poetry Review (2007), New European Poets, (Graywolf Press, 2008), Les Poètes de la Méditerranée (Gallimard, 2010), The World Record (Bloodaxe, 2012) and The Hundred Years’ War (Bloodaxe, 2014). He lives in The Hague, the Netherlands. 

Ana Brnardić has published four books of poetry that received several prestigious Croatian awards for poetry: Pisaljka nekog mudraca (The Pen of a Sage, 1998. – Goran Award for young poets; Slavić Award for poetry debut), Valcer zmija (The Snake Waltz, 2005. – Kvirin Award for young poets), Postanak ptica (The Creation of Birds, 2009) and Uzbrdo (Uphill, 2015). With Adrian Oproiu, Ana translates modern and contemporary Romanian literature into Croatian. She is also the General Secretary of Croatian Writers Society.


Croatia at the Leipzig Book Fair

This year Croatia was represented at the Leipzig Book Fair by authors Daša Drndić, Ivana Šojat Kuči, Ivana Simić Bodrožić, Milana Vuković Runjić, Branko Čegec, Marko Pogačar and Daniel Rafaelić.
The program of the Croatian program at the Leipzig Book fair was Alida Bremer.
The programme took place both at the Book Fair venue and at several locations in the city.
Croatian stand was hosted by KURS organization form Split.


Kristian Novak receives Literary Award for the Best Novel in 2013

The writer Kristian Novak has won the award for his novel "Črna mati zemla" published by Algoritam. He was presented this prestigious literary award worth 50,000 HRK at yesterday's award ceremony held at Europa Cinema in Zagreb. Recognizing the importance of investing in culture and granting awards to writers, one of the most-visited web portals, established this award seven years ago.

This year's competition saw the participation of 49 titles, which is the highest number of applications throughout the seven years since the foundation of the Tportal Literary Award. The last year's winner was ‘Budi Hamlet, pane Hamlete’, the first novel by Tahir Mujičić (AGM 2012), and other winners were 'Adio kauboju' by Olja Savičević Ivančević (Algoritam 2010), ‘Tri’ by Drago Glamuzina (Profil, 2008) and 'Anastazija' by Dalibor Šimpraga (Durieux, 2007.). The year before last, the award went to Ivica Đikić for the novel 'Sanjao sam slonove' (Naklada Ljevak 2011), and this year's competitor Sibila Petlevski was also among the award winners. She had received the award for 'Vrijeme laži' (Fraktura, 2009), the first part of the ‘Tabu’ Trilogy, from which the second novel ‘Bilo nam je tako lijepo’ went to the competition's final two years ago.

The decision on the winner of the competition was passed by a jury of independent literary experts comprised of: Jadranka Pintarić, Katarina Luketić and Miroslav Mićanović.

The award was presented to the winner by the president of the jury, Jadranka Pintarić, who explained: "This year, we were looking for something fresh and wondrous, for refinement in details and for challenges in style and language in which we identify the author's passionate effort, instead of the "lightness" of writing sentences. And this is exactly what we found in Kristian Novak's novel "Črna mati zemla“, this year's winner of the novel of the year award."

Đurđica Klancir, Chief Editor of tportal, pointed out the importance of this competition: „Tportal is one of the rare Croatian general portals featuring a culture section. By this project, we wish to celebrate the power of the written word and, every year again, create a kind of recapitulation of the annual national novel production and to highlight what of this year's literary production is going to stay...for future generations.“

The award ceremony was also attended by Mrs. Andrea Zlatar Violić, Minister of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and Mr. Davor Tomašković, President of the Management Board of T-HT, who took this opportunity to say "Hrvatski Telekom, being a socially responsible company, is supporting cultural projects, as also demonstrated by this award. By this award we wish to reinforce the social status of established literary names, but also present an opportunity to new authors and contribute to the creation of new literature lovers. My thanks go to everyone who has participated in our competition, and I would like to invite Croatian authors to apply with their work again next year."



Croatia at Frankfurt Book Fair 2014

Featuring 149 interviews, critical essays, and 1,860 photographs that span 2,096 beautifully designed pages The Chronotope of Croatian Performance Art is a formidable and astounding testament to artists whose art clashed with all ideologies.

Read more